Car Reviews for Mazda 6

Mazda 6 average rating: 4.5/5 (25 reviews)

Read our customers' honest and impartial Mazda 6 car reviews and ratings to easily find your next car at Motorparks.


- 31/12/2016, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon 2.0 Sport Nav 4dr - 2016

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 So far so good with the exception of the smart city brake warning light on which I am waiting for an answer. The car drives well, I think the handbook could be more informative. 

- 28/09/2015, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon 2.2d [175] Sport Nav 4dr

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 I had been considering for a long time what new car to buy and I could not make up my mind. That was until I saw a new Mazda 6 drive past - it really turned my head. I thought it was such a good looking car and I decided to investigate further. It turned out the car I saw was the newly refreshed Sport Nav model, and for the price it comes incredibly well equipped. There was only one optional extra available because the car already has every other feature fitted as standard. The car I test drove had the 2.2 diesel engine with 150 PS which the salesperson described as enough, and so it is. If you want more, then the 175 PS version certainly fits the bill. I was pleased to discover the extra horsepower makes more difference than I expected it to. On the motorway it is very authoritative and accelerates easily without needing to drop a gear. I plumped for a manual transmission, and a little display under the tachometer suggests when you should change gear. I was surprised at first by how soon it recommends changing up, but have quickly learned to trust it. The engine pulls strongly from as low as 1000 rpm, and when driving in town you can waft through the gears, which feels very gentle and relaxing. The car's features are well thought out and genuinely useful. For example - when you're not using the nav system, it displays the name of the next street you're approaching at the top of the screen. A small head-up display shows your speed and, when using the nav system, turn-by-turn instructions in the driver's line of sight without having to take your eyes off the road. As well as front and rear parking sensors it has a reversing camera, which makes parking a lot easier, given how long the car is. That means there is lots of leg room in the back, and lots of space in the boot. It sometimes overhangs parking spaces though. The car has an automatic stop-start system - called i-STOP, and a kinetic energy recovery system called i-ELOOP, but instead of using the recovered energy to drive the car as a hybrid does, it charges a large capacitor which is used to power the car's electrical systems. The i-ELOOP and i-STOP systems work together so that when the capacitor is uncharged, as it might be after a motorway cruise, the i-STOP will not operate. Cruising at speed is the car's most economical mode of operation anyway - the i-STOP and i-ELOOP systems seem to be intended to improve economy during the car's least economical mode, stop-start driving in town. The build quality is great, the doors close with a nice satisfying sound as does the boot lid. The cabin is well sound proofed, letting in only a little outside noise and there are no squeaks or rattles. All surfaces feel very nice, and there are brown leather accents in the doors and across the dashboard to complement the black leather upholstery. The interior is seriously good, rivalling anything you would get in a BMW, Audi or Mercedes - and you would pay far more for it. You get dual-zone climate control and heated front seats. The driver's seat is electrically adjustable and has two settings. The Sport models come with an 11-speaker Bose surround system, which sounds brilliant. The meteor grey paint suits the car particularly well, matching the alloy wheels and the sunset glass. It's very sleek with sweeping lines, and looks good from every angle. Chrome inserts all over the car body really finish it off. The very first time I drove it I saw people looking at it, and on my very first day parking it at work someone commented on it. Any criticisms? I guess the reversing light is a bit dim, although the reversing camera mitigates this. The LED headlights are very bright, which is good for me, although I worry about how bright they seem to other drivers. All in all, I love my new car and am very happy with the choice I made. If you're looking for a luxury saloon and don't want the obvious German car that everyone else seems to drive, I think you should consider a Mazda6. 

- 26/08/2017, owner of a Mazda 6 Se Nav D

User rating: 4/5

Comment:

 First time owner of a Mazda 6 2.2 Diesel, very impressed, good all round power, great mpg - average 65 on a run. 

- 25/10/19, owner of a Mazda 6 Tourer Diesel 2.2d [184] Sport Nav+ 5dr Auto [Safety Pack]

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 I purchased the Mazda 6 Tourer, new, at the beginning of October. Having covered over 1,500 miles in it I am very pleased. The car is very comfortable, internal noise levels are low, fuel consumption is good, averaging 49 mpg. The auto gearbox is very smooth and having always driven a manual before, makes driving in traffic almost a pleasure. The DAB radio is very good, no problems with reception. Audio syncs with my iPhone with no problems. The only thing that prevents 10/10 is the sat nav system. You are not able to to turn the voice directions off with out the system lowering the volume of your music when you would have been receiving a voice instruction, also with the voice turned down there is no audible speed camera warning. Come on Mazda, this is your own brand sat nav you must be able to do a software update to change this. I would rate the car 9/10, would have been 10 if the sat nav was sorted.  

- 23/10/2017, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon 2.2d SE-L Nav 4dr Auto

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 I love it, takes a bit of getting used to the electronics and I might end up visiting for some advice. Everyone loves the colour, but no problems at all. As this is bigger than my Passat, it takes a little bit of getting used to, but after some two years of looking I am glad I waited for this car, even my wife loves it. 

- 22/04/2015, owner of a Mazda 6 Tourer 2.2d Sport Nav 5dr

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 The mazda 6 is an excellent car to drive and meets all my requirements, however disapointed that it does not have a spare wheel and that you did not offer to get one 

- 21/06/2019, owner of a Mazda 6 Tourer 2.0 SE-L Lux Nav Plus 5dr

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 Variable speed cruise control takes a little practice to become used to it, especially when changing gears as it remains active and it can suddenly zoom zoom zoom faster than expected. 

- 19/10/2017, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon Sport Nav D

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 Very happy with car - took a little time to get used to all the features, but now ok - many more than on the old car. Find the reversing camera really helpful.  

- 14/11/2018, owner of a Mazda 6 Tourer 2.2d [184] Sport Nav+ 5dr

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 Considered many cars and manufacturers but decided on the Mazda 6 Sport Plus Nav Tourer. Very impressed so far and it has a wealth of great features that keep on surprising me. Very pleased with my purchase. Well done Mazda! 

- 14/10/2016, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon 2.2d Sport Nav 4dr - 2016

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 This is the second Mazda6 I have owned and they keep getting better. The Mazda infotainment center is a great improvement over the previous TomTom system,more user friendly and better sited on the dashboard. The car is now quieter than my previous model and seems to ride better. Very happy with the service so far from Northampton Motors who have been helpful with my queries. 

- 14/07/2019, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon 2.0 SE-L Lux Nav+ 4dr 32018

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 My Mazda 6 is very well equipped, the spec is by far the best I've ever had in any car. 

- 14/02/2017, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon 2.0 Sport Nav 4dr - 2017

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 Everyone I dealt with was polite, friendly and cheerful. On a minor note, it was good that the whole range still features a CD player. Call me old fashioned, but it did make the difference!!  

- 13/08/2019, owner of a Mazda 6 Diesel Saloon 2.2d SE-L Nav 4dr 2013

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 The Mazda 6 is a great drive. So comfortable it's lije being in a lovely big armchair. The power as it goes through the gears is electric. The bodywork is eye catching. The boot space is huge. I'd like to say thank you to Suzanne Harris the auto service reception lady whose knowledge on the car has helped me understand it a little better.  

- 13/06/2017, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon 2.0 Sport Nav

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 Very pleased, what wonderful value - just not used to the multi media system yet. 

- 11/10/19, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon 2.0 Sport Nav+ 4dr

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 The car is exceptional and a real pleasure to drive. 

- 11/09/2015, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon 2.5 SL 4dr

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 This is not your normal Mazda 6 it is the 2.5SL. It's just a pleasure to drive I find reason to use the car. Considering this is a 2008 its features and gadgets would beat or rival most modern cars. It is a sporty firm drive with great looks but doesn't stand out in the crowd very under stated which I love. It not a big car but with front and rear sensors it simple to park. Great Car Mazda love it.  

- 11/07/2017, owner of a Mazda 6 Hatchback Special Edition 2.0 Takuya 5dr

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 I've now had my Mazda 6 for two months and it has performed as well as described to me during my demonstration, by well informed Account manager, a pleasure to drive.  

- 11/02/2017, owner of a Mazda 6 Tourer 2.2d Sport Nav 5dr - 2017

User rating: 4/5

Comment:

 A handsome car that is lovely to drive, the nineteen inch wheels are fine and I don't feel the harshness that some reviewers mention. Some corners have been cut to save money on the interior but overall it still feel feels resasonably upmarket. The sound system is excellent. The seats are comfortable with great range of adjustment in the Sport Nav spec. I wondered whether to go for the 150 or 175 BHP and I find the 150 more than adequate. Overall, after a couple of thousand miles, I am very happy with the car. I have always bought Volvos and the drive is much better but the feel isn't quite as well built. I bought a last model year pre registered at a 20% plus discount from list and that seems fair value. I wouldn't have felt the same if I had paid close to list. 

- 10/09/2016, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon 2.0 SE-L Nav 4dr - 2013

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 Wonderful car fantastic all round. 

- 09/06/2019, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon 2.0 Sport Nav Plus 4dr

User rating: 4/5

Comment:

 Diesel is dying but petrol doesn't compare. The lack of power in the petrol engine compared to the diesel got me my first speeding ticket in over thirty years in pushing to get speed up rather than the quicker pick up in the diesel, even on a lower BHP. The safety pack added to the new Mazda 6 is a great feature to add but it seems other sacrifices have been made. Loss of fog lights at the front is puzzling and wouldn't have taken away from the great new face lift, also the reasoning behind one reversing light is another puzzle. In summary the new Mazda 6 is a great car but stick with the diesel as the lack of power in the petrol is too big a sacrifice to make and would have given this car another 10/10. 

- 08/04/2018, owner of a Mazda 6 Hatchback Sport Nav D

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 Thrilled to bits with it and does more than I could ask or think! 

- 07/06/2016, owner of a Mazda 6 Tourer 2.2d Sport Nav 5dr

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 The whole process of buying my new car was very easy. I received what I considered a fair price for my trade in and my new car was presented in a way that is a credit to whoever does the valeting. The paper work was handled by Steve Greenfield. Steve is a real professional and very amiable and I would have no hesitation in recommending Northampton Motors to anyone looking to buy a new car. 

- 04/06/2016, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon 2.0 SE-L Nav 4dr Auto

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 Got a Mazda 6 saloon auto, petrol lovely car to drive, catchy on the eye, plenty of room inside, smooth clear drive, got used to sat nav and communications, loads better than my last car Peugeot 3008. 

- 03/02/2019, owner of a Mazda 6 Saloon 2.5 GT Sport Nav Plus Auto

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 The new Mazda 6 is a pleasure to drive. The improvements made to the steering system and suspension, together with the interior decor and seating comfort has excelled. Many nuances have been answered.  

- 02/05/2017, owner of a Mazda 6 Tourer 2.0 Sport Nav 5dr

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 My Mazda 6 estate petrol sport nav is a fantastic car, fuel consumption on long journeys is 50 mpg and local driving 44 mpg. The Invicta team members were extemely helpful and I highly recomend them as I travelled from North Wales to collect this vehicle. 

 

Back to Car Reviews

 

 

Browse our buyers impartial and informative new and used car reviews and ratings. These are honest reviews left by our own guests who have visited and bought a car from one of our Motorparks car dealers

Once you have found your ideal  car from reading our car reviews you can contact one of our car dealers who will be happy to assist your purchase of this car.

 

 

 

Search Used Cars, Car Dealerships and New Cars by: Region | County | Town