Car Reviews for Volvo V40

Volvo V40 image

Volvo V40 average rating: 4.5/5 (47 reviews)

Read our customers' honest and impartial Volvo V40 car reviews and ratings to easily find your next car at Motorparks.


- 30/12/2016, owner of a Volvo V40 hatchback T3 [152] R Design 5dr Geartronic - 2016

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 I needed a second car for my wife and children. I wanted something safe and reliable. I have had 3 Volvo's and between them they have done 450,000 miles. The V40 mixes comfort with style and safety. Doves as a dealer, treated me as a valued customer and made the whole experience work well for us. Just be careful with the fuel economy figures in the brochures but this is the same for most cars out there. the reality is somewhat different from the book. But I am sure as with my XC60 it will improve once the car is run in. 

- 30/06/2015, owner of a Volvo V40 Diesel Hatchback D2 [120] SE 5dr

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 We like it very much, still plenty to find out about it, but delighted with it so far.  

- 30/03/2015, owner of a Volvo V40 Diesel Hatchback D4 [190] R Design 5dr

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 The Volvo V40 D4 R Design is awesome, the power and responsiveness is so smooth throughout all the gears. Brilliant car, dream to drive. 

- 29/05/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 T3 [152] R Design 5dr Geartronic

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 I am delighted with the Nav R Design V40. My only adverse comment would be that the onboard user manual is not as user friendly as a hard copy would be. 

- 29/03/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 Hatchback T2 [122] Inscription 5dr - 2017

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 New V40 is perfect. Great drive, looks very stylish and feels secure with brilliant safety features. Really pleased. 

- 29/03/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 Hatchback T3 [152] Momentum Nav Plus 5dr Geartronic - 2017

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 I am very pleased with my new V40. The good experience started on meeting with Sales Consultant Nigel Livingstone when I visited the show room in February to discuss purchasing a Volvo. I had a test drive in a V40 and, subsequently, decided to purchase a new one. Amanda Jones was also very helpful with the purchase, and with financial matters. It is a delight to drive, although I still have some learning to do with all the features that are available. Nigel gave me a good run down of all the common functions and controls before I drove it away and the quick guide has also proved useful. I am working my way through the Owner's Manual to familiarise myself with everything. I find it extremely comfortable and the layout is very intuitive. I would certainly recommend Doves Horsham for the help they gave me in helping me to decide what to purchase. It was a smooth process from the very beginning all the way through to 1st March when I picked up my car. 

- 28/04/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 Hatchback T3 Cross Country Nav Plus 5dr

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 Loving my new D40 T3, smooth, comfortable and responsive. Feels great to drive. 

- 26/09/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 D3 [4 Cyl 150] Cross Country Nav Plus 5dr Geartronic

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 Very smart looking very comfortable and a pleasure to drive. 

- 25/10/2016, owner of a Volvo V40 hatchback T2 [122] Momentum Nav Plus 5dr Geartronic 2016

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 Very pleased with our Volvo V40. Comfortable, smooth ride. Extras at no extra costs. Better than critics say. 

- 25/01/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 Hatchback T3 [152] Cross Country Pro 5dr Geartronic - 2016

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 I love my Volvo V40 T3 cross country. The most comfortable car I have ever driven. I have back problems and have always struggled with comfort. No longer, Thank you Volvo. 

- 23/09/2016, owner of a Volvo V40 Diesel Hatchback D2 [120] Momentum Nav Plus 5dr

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 Picked up a new V40 Momentum D2 from Doves a fortnight ago to replace a 3-door C30. Excellent car and excellent service from the dealer. 

- 22/07/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 Hatchback T3 [152] Inscription 5dr

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 We took delivery of our new V40 T3 Inscription a few weeks ago. It is a lovely car and meets our requirements. Very comfortable drive. Spacious inside, but a larger boot would have been useful. All controls are easily accessible and self explanatory. Air conditioning operates within seconds. 

- 22/01/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 Diesel Hatchback D3 [4 Cyl 150] Inscription 5dr Geartronic - 2016

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 The V40 is a quality car. The interior is spacious and well laid out, everything is to hand for the driver. It drives well too. Smooth and relaxed, power when you need it and good fuel economy ... a tank full lasts a long time. 

- 22/01/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 Hatchback T2 [122] R Design Pro 5dr - 2017

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 Having changed from a diesel V40 SE Lux to petrol V40 R-Design Pro I have noticed the difference in power and performance. Handles very well, has all the features of previous model with the addition of sat nav and am very happy with performance so far.  

- 20/05/2018, owner of a Volvo V40 D2 [120] Inscription 5dr Geartronic

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 Very comfortable driving position and instrument layout is excellent. Road handling is also excellent with smooth ride albeit on 17in wheels. The downside is a fair bit of road noise due to 17in wheels, I feel. Rear view restricted due to wide rear pillars and rear seat headrests. 

- 20/05/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 Hatchback T3 [152] Inscription 5dr

User rating: 4/5

Comment:

 Mostly car is good and driving excellent. Problems with media system in that it is complex and not intuitive, so is going to take me time to learn. Not able to transfer or store phone numbers using Bluetooth and may need advice from vehicle supplier at Preston.  

- 20/03/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 Hatchback T2 [122] R Design 5dr - 2017

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 The Volvo V40 is great to drive, very comfortable and stylish, but the one thing I think is missing is on both front seat runners the bolts next to the console have no covers - I know this is only minor, but to me it would be a nice finishing touch to have them. 

- 18/12/2015, owner of a Volvo V40 Diesel Hatchback D4 [190] SE Lux Nav 5dr Geartronic

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 This is our second V40. We are absolutely over the moon with it. We elected to have an automatic box and a D4 this time. The gearbox is very smooth and that little bit more oomph from the engine is superb. It is a lot quieter than the D3. Overall the car is very comfortable and a delight to drive. Our only slight disappointment is that this car does not have the automatic dimming mirror that the last one had - which is an annoyance rather than a real performance drawback. Nonetheless, given that to add this as an extra is so relatively inexpensive in the scheme of things, we are very surprised that in this day and age Volvo have not specified this as standard equipment. With it this car wold have scored a 10. We were, as last time, really well looked after by Bill and Tony at the Blackburn dealership and we have no doubt that we will be coming back to you for our next car.  

- 17/12/2016, owner of a Volvo V40 R-Design Nav D3 2016

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 Fantastic car - love the trim, drive, gear change, seats etc. on the car I chose, V40 D3 satnav. Had some new cars over years - like this one the best. 

- 17/04/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 Hatchback T3 R Design 5dr

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 We had a V40 T2, I loved the car, so we bought another V40 but the T3 model for a bit more power. We are extremely pleased with the new car. 

- 16/08/2018, owner of a Volvo V40 T3 [152] Cross Country Pro 5dr Geartronic

User rating: 4.5/5

Comment:

 The car is brilliant. This car has satellite navigation which, on the last trip, saved me a whole lot of time, an engine temperature gauge and shows the distance still to be driven til the next fill-up. Also, the handbook details are built into the the on-board computer - particularly useful to me as I can't find the black thick folder consisting of the handbook, the quick review of the handbook and a book detailing service history - I can't find this anywhere! I'm praying it turns up as it is expensive to replace. But the CAR - Brilliant.  

- 16/04/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 Hatchback T2 [122] R Design Nav Plus 5dr - 2016

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 Very satisfied with the V40. This is the second one I have had. Very comfortable. Easy to drive. 

- 15/04/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 Diesel Hatchback D2 [120] Momentum Nav Plus 5dr - 2016

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 Fantastic car. Very comfortable and so easy to drive. Love it! 

- 15/03/2017, owner of a Volvo V40 Hatchback T2 [122] R Design Nav Plus 5dr - 2017

User rating: 3.5/5

Comment:

 Juicy around town but better on motorway. Firm drive as feel every bump. Rear suspension very squeaky although this can probably be rectified. Nice looking car inside and out. Many blind spots. Overall I am pleased.  

- 15/01/2016, owner of a Volvo V40 D2 Cross Country SE Nav 5dr

User rating: 5/5

Comment:

 I love my V40 Cross Country, the car is very stylish, comfortable and a great drive, mine has the winter pack and driver safety features, I would recommend the V40 as a great car just go and test drive one. 


 

Back to Car Reviews

 

 

Browse our buyers impartial and informative new and used car reviews and ratings. These are honest reviews left by our own guests who have visited and bought a car from one of our Motorparks car dealers

Once you have found your ideal  car from reading our car reviews you can contact one of our car dealers who will be happy to assist your purchase of this car.

 

 

 

Search Used Cars, Car Dealerships and New Cars by: Region | County | Town